About Us

Creating Awareness

We have been at the forefront of environmental protection in New Brunswick since 1969.

Our History

The idea for a provincial environmental organization for New Brunswick was first proposed in January 1969 at the annual meeting of the New Brunswick Institute of Agrology by soil scientist Kenneth Langmaid. With a $50 grant from the institute, Ken joined with a group of other scientists, writers, and journalists to found the Conservation Council of New Brunswick on October 18, 1969. Kenneth Langmaid served as our first president. The original provisional directors included Robert Strang, Gerald Shaw, and Austin Squires.

In 1979, the Conservation Council hired its first Executive Director, Dana Silk. Dana was succeeded by Janice Harvey in 1983. In 1985, David Coon joined Janice to serve as Policy Director. By 1990, the organization had grown such that it was organizing its work into programs, beginning with its Marine Conservation Program. Sustainable Agriculture and Environmental Health Programs were added in the mid-1990?s. These were followed by the establishment of Forest Conservation, Climate Action, Health Watch Programs, and most recently, Buy Local NB, Freshwater Protection, and Learning Outside.

The first Annual General Meeting of the Conservation Council of New Brunswick happened on Oct. 17, 1969. From left to right: Dr. G.G. Shaw, treasurer; Dr. R.M. Strang, secretary; K.K. Langmaid, president; Dr. Austin Squires, second vice president; and David Walker, first vice president.

After a two-year retrofit, the ribbon was cut on Conserver House in 1981. From left to right: Elbridge Wilkins, Mayor of Fredericton; Hon. Fernande Dube, Administrator of Finance, Senator Muriel McQueen Fergusson; Dana Silk, Executive Director; Dr. Lucy Dyer, President of the Conservation Council.

Reunion of the Conservation Council’s founding members. From left to right: Dr. Lucy Dyer, Dr. John Anderson, David Christie, Tim Dilworth, Margaret Taylor, Frank Withers, James Pataki, Harold Hatheway, Mary Majka.

In 2012, David Coon retired from the Conservation Council of New Brunswick after 33 years to pursue other personal passions. Lois Corbett took the reigns as Executive Director in 2014, bringing a wealth of public policy and environmental advocacy experience to the organization.

A member of the UN’s Global 500 Roll of Honour, the Conservation Council works to find practical solutions to help families and citizens, educators, governments and businesses protect the air we breathe, the water we drink, the precious marine ecosystem and the land, including the forest, that support us. We depend on our members to give us the independence we need to speak out credibly and effectively on behalf of the environment and our communities.

Do you care about clean air, water and land?
Be part of the solution!
Scroll to Top